Connect with us


Drury and Schneider To Become Latest Former Rangers Elected to US Hockey Hall of Fame

Two former Rangers enter Hall of Fame this year.

Two former Broadway Blueshirts, Forward Chris Drury, who had served as team captain before Ryan Callahan and Defenseman Mathieu Schneider, became the 19th and 20th Rangers to be elected to the US Hockey Hall of Fame. The official induction ceremony will take place in Boston on December 17, of this year.

The NY Rangers now have one former head coach, three former executives and 16 former players as part of this august body.

The head coach is Herb Brooks, who not only led the Rangers, but was the driving force behind the 1980 US Olympics team’s “Miracle on Ice” charge to the Gold Medal.

The three executives are William M. Jennings, Larry Pleau and Craig Patrick, who were all inducted as USA Hockey administrators.

The 16 players are as follows: Brian Leetch, Mike Richter, Eddie Olczyk, Pat LaFontaine, Tony Amonte, Doug Weight, John Vanbiesbrouck and Robbie Ftorek. They are now joined by Drury and Schneider.

And of the 20, five are also in the Hockey Hall of Fame. Those five are: Brian Leetch, Pat LaFontaine, William M. Jennings, Herb Brooks and Craig Patrick.

So to Chris and Mathieu, we say congratulations on this prestigious honor.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Feature