Connect with us


New York Mets Win Four of 2015 Double G Sports Awards

(Elsa/Getty Images)

(Elsa/Getty Images)


The recognition continues to come in for the New York Mets after a very successful 2015 campaign. The Mets are well represented in the 2015 Double G Sports Awards, winning four.

The Mets were named the Men’s Team of the Year after winning the National League East with a record of 90-72. They captured the National League pennant before falling to the Kansas City Royals in the World Series. The Mets received 57% of the vote, beating out the New York Red Bulls, New York Lizards, and New York Islanders.

Terry Collins, was named Coach of the Year, for leading the team. Collins beat out Bill Laimbeer of the New York Liberty, Alain Vigneault of the New York Rangers, and Rex Ryan who split time between the New York Jets and Buffalo Bills in 2015.

The team also received the award for Most Improved Team. In 2014, the Mets finished in third place in the NL East with a losing record of 79-93. In just one year’s time, the team improved to the 90-72 mark and an appearance in the World Series.

The fourth award the Mets received was an individual award. Starting pitcher Noah Syndergaard received the 2015 Double G Sports Award for Rookie of the Year. Syndergaard posted a 9-7 record in 24 starts. He pitched to a 3.24 ERA which was tops among MLB rookies with over 100 innings pitched. He also led all rookies with 166 strikeouts and only walked 31 opposing batters.


Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Baseball