Connect with us


NHL Descends on Las Vegas for 2015 NHL Awards

NHL Awards in Las Vegas on Wednesday, June 24.

Rangers GM Glen Sather is a finalist for 2015 GM of the Year.

Rangers GM Glen Sather is a finalist for 2015 GM of the Year.


Hockey stars past and present will join fans from the world of entertainment at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, on June 24 for the 2015 NHL Awards.

The two hour program, broadcasted on NBCSN in the United States and Sportsnet in Canada at 7:00 PM on Wednesday night, will be hosted by Rob Riggle and include a musical performance by Daughtry. This year’s scheduled presenters include former NHL stars Daniel Alfredsson, Bill Guerin, Pat LaFontaine, Ted Lindsay, Trevor Linden, Mark Messier and Cam Neely as well as broadcasters  Anson Carter, Nick Kyreos, George Stroumboulopoulos and Kathryn Tappen. Other presenters are stars from television, movies and music including Kix Brooks, Colin Hanks, Matthew Modine, Russell Peters and Kevin Smith.

New Jersey native and Calgary Flames rookie Johnny Gaudreau along with Florida Panthers rookie Aaron Ekblad and Ottawa Senators rookie Mark Stone are up for the Calder Trophy. New York Rangers goaltender Henrik Lundqvist, is nominated for the Vezina Trophy going up against Minnesota Wild netmnder Devan Dubnyk and Pekka Rinne from the Nashville Predators.

Rangers general manager Glen Sather, Tampa Bay Lightning GM, Steve Yzerman and Anaheim Ducks GM, Bob Murray have been nominated for the General Manager of the Year Award. Candidates for the Jack Adams Coach of the Year Award are from the Rangers, Alain Vigneault, Predators, Peter Laviolette and Bob Hartley from the Flames.

The nominees for the Hart Memorial Trophy for NHL MVP are from the New York Islanders, John Tavares, Washington Capitals, Alex Ovechkin and the Montreal Canadiens, Carey Price. The James Norris Memorial Trophy for best defenseman include, from the Los Angeles Kings, Drew Doughty, Erik Karlsson from the Ottawa Senators and P.K. Subban from the Candiens.

The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy presented to the player voted to best sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct include; Pavel Datsyuk from the Detroit Red Wings, Jiri Hudler, from the Flames and Anze Kopitar from the Kings, as the nominees. Kopitar is also a nominee for the Frank J. Selke Trophy for best defensive forward, along with Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins and Jonathan Toews from the newly crowned Stanley Cup Champion Chicago Blackhawks.

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy presented to the player that best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey will be presented Andrew Hammond of the Senators, Kris Letang of the Pittsburgh Penguins or Dubnyk. Flames defenseman, Mark Giordano, San Jose Sharks defenseman Brent Burns and Lundqvist are the nominees for the NHL Foundation Award presented to the player that best exemplifies the core values of hockey, commitment, perseverance and teamwork to enrich the lives of the people in his community.

Ovechkin, Price and Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars were voted by the NHLPA as the nominees for the Ted Lindsay Award for Most Outstanding Player. Mark Messier solicits suggestions from club and league personnel as well as fans for suggestions for the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone. This year’s nominees include Toews, Ryan Getzlaf, from the Ducks and Andrew Ladd from the Winnipeg Jets.

All of the NHL Trophies will be on display at the MGM Grand Hotel and Casino, from Friday June 19th through June 24th for all fans to catch a closer look at before they are presented at the awards show. All the trophies will be on display 24 hours a day until Wednesday at noon. The Stanley Cup will be arriving on Monday at 4:00 PM to be on display until 7:00 PM and then return on Tuesday from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM and then again from 4:00 PM until 7:00 PM.

The 2015 NHL Awards marks the first year that the event will be held at the MGM Grand and the seventh year of the league’s successful partnership with Las Vegas. NHL Social in conjunction with the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, will lead the LVCVA Social Scavenger Hunt on Monday June 22 from 12:00 to 4:00 PM Pacific Time. For details, follow @NHL on Twitter and Instagram, using hashtag #NHLScavengerHunt.

On Wednesday, NHL Social will engage with finalists, presenters, broadcasters and special guests during the Red Carpet Show via Periscope live stream @NHL. Subban will also serve as host of the Samsung NHL Social Lounge backstage at the MGM Grand Garden Arena, offering fans at home an exclusive access to the festivities and real-time trending information on Twitter. For the first time ever, fans will have the opportunity to cast their vote via Twitter for the top three social media moments of the 2014-2015 season. The winning moment will be unveiled during the live broadcast.

The following two tabs change content below.
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Hockey