Connect with us


Pride Clean Up in Regular Season Awards

The Hofstra Pride men’s basketball team had a historical regular, punctuated by a sixteen game winning streak that led to national attention. Award voters also took notice as the Pride made a number of additions to their trophy case, with room for more.

Starting off the court, coach Joe Mihalich was named CAA Coach of the Year. In his sixth season at the helm, the Pride went 25-6, their best record in his tenure. Mihalich has guided the Pride to their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2001. He’s the first Hofstra coach to win the award in the CAA, coach Jay Wright won Coach of the Year when Hofstra was a part of the America East Conference.

On the court, team leader and senior guard Justin Wright-Foreman was named CAA Player of the Year and to the All-CAA first team. The nations second-leading scorer at 26.8 points per game is also a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award for best Senior in Division I and the Jerry West Award as the best shooting guard in the country. His 2,210 career points rank third all-time in program history.

Senior guard Desure Buie was named the CAA Defensive Player of the Year. Buie led the conference with 2.5 steals per game. Buie was also named to the All-CAA third team and CAA All-Defensive team. Buie was redshirted his Sophomore year and will be back next season.

Graduate student Jacquil Taylor joined Buie on the All-Defensive team. The Purdue transfer averaged 1.7 blocks and 8.6 rebounds per game.

Junior Eli Pemberton was named to the All-CAA second team averaging 15.6 points, 4.8 rebounds and 2.4 assists per game.

The Pride will continue their drive for their first CAA Championship in program history Monday as they face the University of Delaware in the semifinals.

The following two tabs change content below.
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in College