Connect with us


The (obvious) case for Jacob deGrom to win the NL Cy Young award

A true ace this season, deGrom can prove that the overall record doesn’t matter as much as the stats surrounding it

It won’t be long until the Cy Young award winners are announced. The debate to determine who is superior is at an all-time high. While the MVP debate on both sides are fun to talk about at the work water cooler, it is the NL Cy Young race that has caused the most heated discussions.

Right now, there are three legitimate candidates for the award: Aaron Nola of the Phillies, Max Scherzer of the Nationals, and, of course, the Mets’ Jacob deGrom. Each of these candidates have the credentials to back their cases up, but only one can walk away the winner. Even with a team as disappointing as the Mets, deGrom has everything he needs in order to unanimously grab the award.

Jacob deGrom ended the year with an NL-best 1.70 ERA. He also had a career-high 269 strikeouts in 217 innings. Last season, his FIP was 3.50. This season? 1.98, one of the lowest in the league. What may hold him back is the 10-9 record he produced for an offensively-challenged Mets team. They only averaged about 3.5 runs each time he was on the mound.  There are pitchers who aren’t part of the elite that have won more games than deGrom. One thing they don’t have, however? His consistency.

The Mets have had dominant pitchers on their team before, whether it was Tom Seaver or Doc Gooden. Even R.A. Dickey won a Cy Young while on the team. deGrom’s magical 2018 may be a wild story, but that is what is great about the game of baseball.

Yes, Nola won 17 games and Scherzer had over 300 strikeouts. The same rules can apply when talking about Felix Hernandez, who won the Cy Young in 2010 with a 13-12 record and a 2.27 ERA. He was second in the voting the year before, when he had 19 wins. He beat out David Price, Jon Lester and CC Sabathia. The latter of the three won 21 games, but it was the consistency of Felix’s play on a Mariners team that had a 61-101 record that won him the award.

After cutting his famous hair, there were those superstitious folk who believed deGrom’s magic was gone. Instead, he learned a new trick or two, cementing his legacy in one of the most dominant and puzzling campaigns in MLB history. Will he be rewarded for said campaign?

The Cy Young winners will be announced tonight at 6 p.m. ET, only on MLB Network.

The following two tabs change content below.
Baseball Editor, Misc. Sports Editor. Covers all things combat sports (MMA, Pro Wrestling and Boxing). When he's not writing, Daniel hosts a podcast, The Main Event.
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Baseball