Connect with us


Jets Finalize 53-Man Roster

The New York Jets have finalized their 53-man roster ahead of the Saturday deadline, parting ways with a few notable names in the process.

Two marquee names that did not make the cut were Dee Milliner and Jace Amaro. Milliner was waived primarily due to health issues. He had played in 21 career games in three years, but only played in eight games in the last two years due to injuries. Milliner was a highly touted cornerback out of the University of Alabama, where he won two national championships as well as being a consensus All-American in 2012. The Jets drafted him ninth overall in 2013, but he never panned out. Staying healthy was his biggest problem.

Amaro was waived as well on Saturday. The tight end was drafted 49th overall out of Texas Tech in the 2014 draft, after he set the NCAA Division-1 single season record for receiving yards by a tight end. Similar to Milliner, Amaro was never able to stay on the field due to injury problems. Amaro only logged 14 career games, all of them coming in 2014. Both Milliner and Amaro were drafted in the John Idzik regime.

Fellow tight end Zack Sudfeld was waived as well, leaving Kellen Davis and Brandon Bostick as the only two tight ends on the roster.

The Jets also did not make any moves at the quarterback position. Instead they are sticking with an unconventional four QBs on the roster to start the year, with Ryan Fitzpatrick, Geno Smith, Bryce Petty, and Christian Hackenberg all staying on.

Another notable cut was Tommy Bohanon. The 7th round pick in 2013 had been a solid fullback for the Jets over the last few seasons. Julian Howsare will start at the position moving forward.

Lastly, the Jets have parted ways with wide receivers Jeremy Ross, Kenbrell Thompkins, and Chandler Worthy. Robby Anderson, undrafted Ohio State free agent Jalin Marhsall, and seventh-round pick Charone Peake are all rookies who have made the roster at the position.

The Jets play the first game of the regular season next Sunday at home against the Cincinnati Bengals. Kickoff is set for 1:00 p.m.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Football