Connect with us


Hockey Hall of Fame Announces Seven 2015 Inductees

Federov, Lindstrom, Ruggiero among inductees.

Nicklas Lindstrom (Getty Images)

Nicklas Lindstrom (Getty Images)


John Davidson, Chairman of the Selection Committee and Lanny McDonald, the incoming Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame, proudly announced the seven newest inductees to the highest award in hockey.

In the builder category, the Hall welcomed Bill Hay and Peter Kamanos.

Hay was the first NCAA graduate to play in the NHL and he added to his resume, as President and Chief Operating Officer of Hockey Canada, as well as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Calgary Flames, as well as Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Kamanos, a Detroit native, helped thousands of players and dozens of teams as a benefactor, as well as winning a Stanley Cup as Chief Executive Officer, Owner and Governor of the Carolina Hurricanes in 2006.

In the players category; we saw the following players make the HOF.

Sergei Fedorov, Phil Housley, Nicklas Lindstrom, Chris Pronger and Angela Ruggiero.

Fedorov was the first Russian player to reach 1000 points in a career. He also played in six All-Star Games, won three Stanley Cups with the Detroit Red Wings and in 1994 was named the MVP of the League. In doing so, he won the Hart Memorial Trophy.

Housley was the second leading scorer all-time among American born players, In a fantastic 23 season NHL career, Phil was named to seven All-Star Games and ranks third all-time in scoring amongst NHL defensemen.

Lindstrom captured the James Norris Trophy, given to the best Defenseman in the NHL seven times. He also won four Stanley Cups with the Detroit Red Wings as well as an Olympic Gold Medal for Sweden.

Pronger, won the James Norris Trophy for the League’s best Defenseman and the Hart Memorial Trophy for League MVP in 2000. He is a native of Dryden, Ontario and won two Olympic Gold Medals for Canada and a Stanley Cup Championship with the Anaheim Ducks back in 2007.

Ruggiero, a Panorama City, California native; was the youngest player on the US Women’s Hockey team that won their first ever Gold Medal. Since that moment, she has won four more Olympic Gold Medals, as well as six Silver World Championship Medals. Angela was also named Harvard’s Player of the Year Award, three times.

Congratulations to all the newest members of the Hockey Hall of Fame for this outstanding achievement.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Hockey