Connect with us
(John Strohsacker/

(John Strohsacker/

PRINCETON, N.J. — Cornell, Penn and Princeton, the three teams that tied for the Ivy League women’s lacrosse title, each came away with a postseason award after a vote by the eight head coaches.

Princeton senior Olivia Hompe was named Attacker of the Year and Penn junior Alex Condon took home Midfielder of the Year, while Cornell received Defender of the Year (Catie Smith) and Coach of the Year (Jenny Graap).

Hompe (New Canaan, Conn.) becomes the second Tiger to be named Attacker of the Year since the postseason awards changed four years ago, joining Erin McMunn. She is the 15th overall player from Princeton to be named Player of the Year. Hompe leads the nation in scoring with 4.0 goals per game and ranks third nationally in points with 5.7 per game. Hompe was named Offensive Player of the Week three times this season and was a unanimous selection to the All-Ivy first team for the third-straight year.

Condon (Dunn Loring, Va.) ranked fifth in the League in scoring (2.8 gpg) and seventh in points (3.5 ppg), first on the Quakers in the former and second in the latter. She also accumulated 21 ground balls, 10 draw controls and 21 caused turnovers from her midfield position. She was a two-time Offensive Player of the Week and was voted first-team All-Ivy for the second-straight season. Condon is the first Quaker to be named Midfielder of the Year since Shannon Mangini in 2013 and the ninth Penn player overall to be named Player of the Year.

Smith (Berwyn, Pa.), a two-time Defensive Player of the Week, is the first Cornell Defensive Player of the Year since Katy Ivory in 2013. Smith was a defensive force for the Big Red all season, recording 42 ground balls, 33 draw controls and 35 caused turnovers. She led a Cornell defense that limited opponents to just 8.3 goals per game, second-best in the League and sixth-best in the country. Smith also takes home her second-straight first-team All-Ivy honor.

Graap led Cornell to a 6-1 Ivy record for its second-ever League title and first since 2006. The Big Red, currently ranked 11th in the country, will look to win the Ivy League Tournament for the second-straight year and this time they’ll be able to do so at home, as Cornell is hosting the tournament for the first time in its program history.

Cornell and Penn led the way with three players apiece on the first team. Joining Smith for the Big Red is senior attack Amie Dickson (Greenwich, Conn.) and senior midfidler Kristy Gilbert (Darien, Conn.), the most Big Red on the first team since 2006, when five received the honor. The Quakers saw sophomore defender Katy Junior (Wayne, Pa.) and senior attack Emily Rogers-Healion (East Setauket, N.Y.) join Condon on the first team for their first career All-Ivy accolades.

Princeton senior goalie Ellie DeGarmo (Baltimore) was the other Tigers representative on the first team after a regular-season in which she went 12-3 overall with 177 saves (ninth nationally and a 54.3 save percentage (third nationally). Harvard also placed two on the first team in senior defender Marina Burke (Westwood, Mass.) and senior attack Marisa Romeo(Syracuse, N.Y.). Burke is named first team for the first time in her career, while Romeo takes home her third-straight first team honor and fourth-straight All-Ivy accolade.

Columbia senior midfielder Taylor Quinn (Radnor, Pa.) was the other unanimous selection to the first team, giving the Lions their first such honoree since Kacie Johnson in 2013. The final member of the All-Ivy first team is Yale senior attack Hope Hanley (Dover, Mass.), the first Bulldog to accomplish the feat since Nicole Daniggelis in 2014.

Brown and Dartmouth were each represented by two players each on the second team, with Bears sophomore attack Hafsa Moinuddin (Cheshire, Conn.) and junior defender Marissa Hudgins (Syracuse, N.Y.) joined by Big Green senior attack Courtney Weisse (Westfield, N.J.) and sophomore midfielder Kathryn Giroux (Summit, N.J.).

The 2017 Ivy League Women’s Lacrosse Tournament begins Friday, March 5 from Cornell’s Schoellkopf Field, with second-seed No. 7 Penn against third-seed No. 6 Princeton at 4 p.m., followed by top-seed No. 11 Cornell against fourth-seed Harvard at 7 p.m. The winners from those two games will play Sunday at 11 a.m. All three contests of the tournament will be carried live by American Sports Network and The Ivy League Digital Network (ILDN), now available on Apple TV and Roku via the ILDN app.

Olivia Hompe, Princeton (Sr., A – New Canaan, Conn.)

Alex Condon, Penn (Jr., M – Dunn Loring, Va.)

Catie Smith, Cornell (Sr., D – Berwyn, Pa.)

Jenny Graap, Cornell

Amie Dickson, Cornell (Sr., A – Greenwich, Conn.)
Hope Hanley, Yale (Sr., A – Dover, Mass.)
*Olivia Hompe, Princeton (Sr., A – New Canaan, Conn.)
Emily Rogers-Healion, Penn (Sr., A – East Setauket, N.Y.)
Marisa Romeo, Harvard (Sr., A – Syracuse, N.Y.)
Alex Condon Penn (Jr., M – Dunn Loring, Va.)
Kristy Gilbert, Cornell (Sr., M – Darien, Conn.)
*Taylor Quinn, Columbia (Sr., M – Radnor, Pa.)
Marina Burke, Harvard (Sr., D – Westwood, Mass.)
Katy Junior, Penn (So., D – Wayne, Pa.)
Catie Smith, Cornell (Sr., D – Berwyn, Pa.)
Ellie DeGarmo, Princeton (Sr., G – Baltimore)

Colby Chanenchuk, Princeton (Jr., A – Natick, Mass.)
Caroline Cummings, Penn (Jr., A – Menlo Park, Calif.)
Victoria Kalamaras, Columbia (Jr., A – Mountain Lakes, N.J.)
Hafsa Moinuddin, Brown (So., A – Cheshire, Conn.)
Maeve McMahon, Harvard (Sr., A – Duxbury, Mass.)
Courtney Weisse, Dartmouth (Sr., A – Westfield, N.J.)
Lindsey Ewertsen, Columbia (So., M – Montclair, N.J.)
Kathryn Giroux, Dartmouth (So., M – Summit, N.J.)
Ellie McNulty, Princeton (Jr., M – Arnold, Md.)
Marissa Hudgins, Brown (Jr., D – Syracuse, N.Y.)
Megan Kelly, Penn (Sr., D – Moorestown, N.J.)
Amanda Leavell, Princeton (Sr., D – Houston)
Madeline Rodriguez, Princeton (Sr., D – Edina, Minn.)
Brittany Brown, Penn (Sr., G – Bronx, N.Y.)

Tess D’Orsi, Princeton (Fr., A – Sudbury, Mass.)
Catherine Ellis, Cornell (Sr., A – Englewood, Colo.)
Elizabeth Mastrio, Dartmouth (So., A – Wilbraham, Mass.)
Tess McEvoy, Yale (Sr., A – Bethesda, Md.)
Izzy Nixon, Yale (So., A – Greenwich, Conn.)
Julia Glynn, Harvard (Jr., M – Manhasset, N.Y.)
Megan Hennessey, Harvard (Sr., M – Winchester, Mass.)
Carolyn Paletta, Brown (So., M – Greenwich, Conn.)
Laine Parsons, Columbia (So., M – Wilton, Conn.)
Taylor Reed, Cornell (Jr., M – Honeoye Falls, N.Y.)
Natalie Stefan, Penn (Jr., M – Manhasset, N.Y.)
Emma Ford, Harvard (Sr., D – Skaneateles, N.Y.)
Victoria Moore, Yale (Sr., D – Concord, Mass.)
Renee Poullott, Cornell (Sr., G – Syracuse, N.Y.)

The following two tabs change content below.

Media Release

This content is directly from an official media release and was not written by any member of our team here at Double G Sports.
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in College