Connect with us


Big 5 Announces Men’s Basketball Awards

Senior Darrun Hilliard becomes the second straight Villanova Wildcat to be named the Player of the Year.



The Philadelphia Big Five announced its recipients today. It is of no surprise that Villanova, the Big Five champions after winning all their games against their Philly opponents in 2014-2015, received many honors. Senior Darrun Hilliard becomes the second straight Wildcat to be named the Player of the Year, after 2014 graduate James Bell received it last year. Head coach Jay Wright was named the Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year. Freshman guard Phil Booth is the Big Five Rookie of the Year and Junior Ochefu has been named the Most Improved Player.

Along with Hilliard, teammate Ryan Arcidiacono was also named to the first team. Temple senior Will Cummings, DeAndre’ Bembry of Saint Joseph’s, and La Salle Explorer Jordan Price round out the final three spots for the first team.

Villanova senior JayVaughn Pinkston and Ochefu were named to the second team. As Jaylen Bond of Temple, Jerrell Wright of La Salle, and Quenton DeCosey also of Temple finalize the second team.

The Philadelphia Big Five ceremony will take place in April 13 at the Palestra. Tickets for the Big 5 banquet are $50 each and can be reserved by contacting Steve Crider at 814-935-5015 or

Men’s First Team:
Darrun Hilliarrd (Villanova) Will Cummings (Temple) DeAndre’ Bembry (Saint Joseph’s) Jordan Price (La Salle) Ryan Arcidiacono (Villanova)

Men’s Second Team:
Daniel Ochefu (Villanova) JayVaughn Pinkston (Villanova) Jaylen Bond (Temple) Jerrell Wright (La Salle) Quenton DeCosey (Temple)

Coach of the Year: Jay Wright (Villanova)
Player of the Year: Darrun Hilliard (Villanova)

Leading Scorer: DeAndre’ Bembry (Saint Joseph’s)
Leading Free Throw Shooter: Josh Brown (Temple)
Rookie of the Year: Phil Booth (Villanova)

Team Champions: Villanova Wildcats

Most Improved Player: Daniel Ochefu (Villanova)

Scholar Athlete: Hank Davis (La Salle)

The following two tabs change content below.
Renee is a Staff Writer at with a focus on Temple Men's Basketball and other area sports content.
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in College