Connect with us
Chiney Ogwumike, left (Photo by Karen King - Double G Media)


Sun’s Chiney Ogwumike to join sister Nneka in WNBA All-Star Game

Connecticut’s leading scorer selected to second All-Star Game.

On Tuesday, the WNBA revealed the list of 22 players selected to participate in the 15th WNBA All-Star Game which will take place Saturday, July 28 at Target Center in Minneapolis.

Forward Chiney Ogwumike will be the lone player to represent the Connecticut Sun in the game, claiming her second career All-Star honor.

After missing all of 2017 with an Achilles injury, Ogwumike leads the Sun in scoring (15 ppg.) and total rebounds (157), and is second in the WNBA in field goal shooting percentage (.603). She has five double-doubles so far this season.

All-Stars were announced on ESPN’s SportsCenter Tuesday evening. Ogwumike will join her sister, Nneka, a forward who plays for the Los Angeles Sparks. Nneka and Chiney are the only siblings to play in the WNBA All-Star Game.

The 2018 version of the WNBA All-Star Game will have a different format. Rather than the Eastern and Western Conferences playing against each other, players will be mixed.

Elena Delle Donne of the Washington Mystics and Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks are the captains and will select their respective teams from the pool of players announced on Tuesday. Starters will be announced on Friday, July 27 on ESPN2.

Fan voting accounted for 40-percent of the All-Star voting, while current players, current head coaches and a media panel accounted for 20 percent each. Players and head coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own team.


Seimone Augustus – Minnesota Lynx
Sue Bird – Seattle Storm
DeWanna Bonner – Phoenix Mercury
Liz Cambage – Dallas Wings
Tina Charles – New York Liberty
Elena Delle Donne – Washington Mystics
Skylar Diggins-Smith – Dallas Wings
Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx
Chelsea Gray – Los Angeles Sparks
Brittney Griner – Phoenix Mercury
Jewell Loyd^ – Seattle Storm
Maya Moore – Minnesota Lynx
Kayla McBride – Las Vegas Aces
Angel McCoughtry – Atlanta Dream
Chiney Ogwumike – Connecticut Sun
Nneka Ogwumike – Los Angeles Sparks
Candace Parker – Los Angeles Sparks
Allie Quigley – Chicago Sky
Breanna Stewart – Seattle Storm
Diana Taurasi – Phoenix Mercury
Kristi Toliver – Washington Mystics
A’ja Wilson^ – Las Vegas Aces

^ denotes first-time All-Star selection

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Basketball